OnePlanOnePlan Admin Guide Bakup/Restore SettingsHow do I save & restore backups?

How do I save & restore backups?

This article explains how to save and restore backups of your OnePlan group/environment.  These settings are available when the Advanced Settings are enabled.  

Go to the Admin pages, select Backup/Restore in the navigation.  The backup/restore options are NOT for purposes of system backups for disaster/data loss recovery.  OnePlan automatically does backups, as well as Azure for Office365.

Download Backup

Download the configuration of your current OnePlan group.  Select whether or not to include content (i.e. Plans, Generic Resources, etc.).  The backup file will download/save to your local machine.  Then, you can restore it back to your current group or import to another OnePlan group.  

Restore Backup

When to use the restore option?  If you will be making changes to the configuration of your OnePlan group, you may want to first take a backup.  Then, make your changes.  If you made a mistake or don't like the new configuration, you may restore back to a previous backuped version of the configuration.  

Browse to the desired backup file on your machine.  Click Restore.  

Warning: This will overwrite the complete configuration including all applications.

Import Backup

When to use the import option?  If you have two groups, such as your production group/environment and then a testing or training group.  This import is for the purpose of copying the configuration and settings from one group to another group.  You have the option to include content or not.  A scenario when this may be used is for creating a training group and you want to include example training plans and data.  

Create a Backup from the first group.

Switch to the second group.  Browse to the desired backup file on your machine.  Click Restore (for the import).  

Warning: This will overwrite the complete configuration including all applications.